Back-list dilemma…

I have a dilemma.

I’ve just had rights to three of my earlier novels reverted and want to put them out as ebooks. The obvious thing is to do that through infinity plus, but I already have some collections of short fiction under that imprint and I don’t want it to look like a vanity venture.

For exactly this reason, I’ve already put out a couple of standalone short story ebooks (Queen Bee and Sweats) separately.

The novels concerned are:

  • Expatria and Expatria Incorporated: my 2nd and 3rd novels, telling the story of an isolated colony world as it renews contact with Earth;
  • Lord of Stone: my 4th novel, the story of the death of magic in an increasingly secular, civil war-torn world, and a book I still consider to be one of my best.
The options would be to do them all through infinity plus; do just Lord of Stone through infinity plus and the other two separately; or keep them all separate from infinity plus. What do you think? All comments gratefully received!
About Keith Brooke and infinity plus

Keith Brooke is a writer of science fiction, fantasy and other strange stuff, and editor and reviewer of same. He is also the publisher at infinity plus, an independent imprint publishing books by leading genre fiction authors. View all posts by Keith Brooke and infinity plus

3 responses to “Back-list dilemma…

  • Iain Rowan

    I get your concern, but I think you’d be fine to put them out through infinity plus – when it comes to ebook publishing I think the stigma of vanity press is far less, because so many authors are publishing their own work. Don’t think it’s any different because it’s under a publishers’ label, than under your own name. You’ve also got lots of stuff out under the ip banner from other authors, so it wouldn’t look the same as if it was just your books and maybe one other author. It would be a shame too if your own books couldn’t benefit from the benefits that ip brings in terms of cross-promotion.

    So, my vote is go for it.

  • Lord of Stone – an extract from Keith Brooke’s fantasy novel « all things keith brooke and infinity plus

    […] fantasy novel 29 October 2011 keithbrooke Leave a comment Go to comments A few days ago I wrote about my dilemma of how to publish the electronic editions of three of my earlier novels, Lord of Stone and the two […]

Leave a Reply

