Writing again

It’s good to be writing again, almost a month after I finished the first draft of alt.human.

After the long slog of a novel draft I usually end up taking a break, but I do miss the writing. Real life tends to get in the way too, particularly when the day job’s as stressy as it is right now. Getting home exhausted and run down each evening, there’s just nothing left in the tank for writing.

But today: I’ve managed to grab a few hours to have a crack at a short story. It seems such a luxury just to sit down and right something from new like this, with the prospect of actually finishing a draft on the same day I started it.

One of the nicest aspects was the half hour I spent this morning going through story notes. This one’s been bubbling away for a few months, so I had to go through lots of notes to bring everything together; a perk of this was that I reminded myself of all the notes for other stories I’ve accumulated. So many stories to write!

The current story is one related to my story “likeMe”, which appeared in Nature last December. Long term, the plan is to write more stories with this backdrop so that they build up into a mosaic-like snapshot of an enhanced-reality, going-rapidly-downhill nearish future, which I’ll then have to work out what to do with. I might pitch it to one or two indie publishers, or I might just put it out directly as an ebook.

We’ll see. Right now, I’m 1200 words into the new story, and loving being a writer again.

About Keith Brooke and infinity plus

Keith Brooke is a writer of science fiction, fantasy and other strange stuff, and editor and reviewer of same. He is also the publisher at infinity plus, an independent imprint publishing books by leading genre fiction authors. View all posts by Keith Brooke and infinity plus

3 responses to “Writing again

Leave a Reply

