On recording a video interview and the question of book trailers

Keith Brooke at YouTubeSo… I’ve just recorded my first video interview: 45 minutes of Q&A, split up into four chunks at YouTube.

It was an odd thing to do. I wasn’t really prepared – I hadn’t even realised it was to be a video interview when I agreed to do it. The interview was for the Reddit SF community, and members of that group posted questions and then voted on them, the top dozen or so being sent on to me for the interview. Each of those questions tended to include several sub-questions, hence the length of the finished recording.

My main challenges were technical: I simply didn’t have a computer that could record good quality audio (the video was fine). Added complications included my fiancee being in and out of hospital, various illnesses myself, and sheer pressure of work meaning that it was remarkably difficult to find a slot long enough to do it all in.

I managed, though. I recorded it, and I learnt how to edit the video into chunks, how to add opening and closing title screens, etc. It took me back to when I used to edit educational videos as part of my day job, something I loved doing.

The end product is very clearly of home-video standard. It’s me talking into a webcam in my front room, looking shifty as I keep checking the other screen for the questions. I’m not sure how well it’ll go down, or if it’s even a better format than written interviews (personally, I’d rather read an interview than sit through a video clip).

It does raise the whole question of vodcasts and book trailers. I’ve been considering doing an infinity plus trailer for YouTube for some time now. Apparently book trailers are becoming an expected thing. Is it really worth it? Do people actually watch them and decide to buy books as a result? It could be interesting to do, but when it comes down to it, it has to justify the time it would require – time that could otherwise be spent on writing.

I’d be very interested to hear from anyone with views on the subject: do you care about book trailers? How might they influence you? Would vodcasts and short interviews be of more interest than a promotional trailer?

About Keith Brooke and infinity plus

Keith Brooke is a writer of science fiction, fantasy and other strange stuff, and editor and reviewer of same. He is also the publisher at infinity plus, an independent imprint publishing books by leading genre fiction authors. View all posts by Keith Brooke and infinity plus

Leave a Reply

